Tractor and Barn


Township News:






Workshop Meeting is August 19, 2020 @ 11:00.

August 25, 2020 @ 6:30 PM
Meeting will not be open for Public Viewing. Under Executive Order 2020-160. Executive Order 2020-160 and Executive Order 2020-161, amending Michigan’s Safe Start Order and issuing revised workplace safeguards. Under the Safe Start Order, starting July 31, 2020, statewide indoor gatherings will be limited to 10 people
.Please contact the office if you have any questions.

All meetings are open to the public and subject to the guidelines of Michigan's Open Meetings Act (OMA). However, in light of the recent directive from Governor Whitmer, as it relates to the health and safety of all, your Township Board urges its residents and property owners, to adhere to the stay-at-home protection order until further notice. A copy of the Approved 2020/2021 Summerfield Township Budget can be provided to you upon request. Please contact the Township Clerk, Jaclyn Hall (989)539-2501 or Thank you for your consideration during the challenging times. Be smart. Be safe. Stay well.



A brief description of Sumerfield Township

Summerfield Township is located in northern Clare County and is bordered to the north by Missaukee and Roscommon counties. According to the United States Census Bureau, the township has a total area of 35.9 square miles (93.0 km2), of which 35.2 square miles (91.2 km2) is land and 0.69 square miles (1.8 km2), or 1.96%, is water.

  • Leota is an unincorporated community in the township on the Muskegon River at  A post office was established on June 15, 1899 with Arthur E. Rhoden as the first postmaster.In the 1920s, Leota was on the route of M-74.